MecSoft Corporation
https://mecsoft.com/phpbb/

FYI-Incorrect tool path for cones, and a workaround
https://mecsoft.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2906
Page 1 of 1
Author:  1397600070 [ Fri Sep 26, 2014 11:11 am ]
Post subject:  FYI-Incorrect tool path for cones, and a workaround

I am running Geomagic Design 16,0,2,16496/32-bit and Visual Cam Standard for Geomagic 4.0.0.23.
I tried to rerun a part in Visual CAM that I had previously run successfully in Alibre CAM Standard.
The part was a simple cone... a revolved right triangle. Opening it and selecting the 3D Spiral Machining (created in Alibre CAM) produced the path that I had seen in Alibre CAM. When I selected Regenerate the tool path changed to a flat spiral path only on the cone's base.
Through exchanging several emails and examples with Support, it turns that this is a bug with "cones". If the "hypotenuse" is anything other than a straight line, the correct path is created. Support's response:

...."Yes, the issue only seems to occur with cone shaped geometries. We have already made a note of it and reported it to development. The workaround would be to export the part as IGES and import it back to generate toolpaths"...

That worked.

Ken
Author:  MecSoft Support [ Mon Oct 13, 2014 9:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: FYI-Incorrect tool path for cones, and a workaround

We are in communication with Geomagic Design people to see why this is a problem. We will have an update for you soon.
Author:  MecSoft Support [ Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: FYI-Incorrect tool path for cones, and a workaround

As an update, this problem has been resolved in the pre-release Geomagic Design 2015. Consequently our VisualCAM 2015 for GD will not have this issue.
Author:  1397600070 [ Wed Apr 01, 2015 7:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: FYI-Incorrect tool path for cones, and a workaround

I am now running Geomagic Design 17,0,4,17510/32-bit and Visual Cam for Geomagic 5,0,0,1.
The problem has "not" been corrected. When the cone from AlibreCAM's tool path is regenerated the correct tool path appears briefly and then is quickly replaced with the flat tool path only on the cone's base. New cones created with the new program versions still only cuts the cone's flat base.

Also, why are files in this forum not allow to uploaded with the ".ad_prt" extension?

Ken

Attachments:
Cone.ZIP
Original cone part
(118.39 KiB) Downloaded 799 times
Author:  MecSoft Support [ Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: FYI-Incorrect tool path for cones, and a workaround

We had verified this issue as fixed during testing phase but now shows up in the release build. This looks like an API issue in Geomagic Design and we have notified our development team.
We also notify our forum administrator to see if upload of .ad_prt file extensions can be supported.
Author:  1397600070 [ Fri Jun 05, 2015 6:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: FYI-Incorrect tool path for cones, and a workaround

Well I just updated to Geomagic Design 2015.0.1./32 bit.They stated that this will be 3DS's last update for 32 Bit versions. :( I'm running Visual Mill for GMD 5.0.0.1.
And...it still won't generate the correct tool path for a simple cone from a rotated triangle in GM Design.

Ken
Author:  MecSoft Support [ Wed Jun 10, 2015 12:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: FYI-Incorrect tool path for cones, and a workaround

We have implemented a work around in the code to work around the API issue in Geomagic Design. This fix will show up in the next service pack due out next week.
Author:  KMoffett [ Thu Jul 23, 2015 7:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: FYI-Incorrect tool path for cones, and a workaround

Just installed the new version 5.0.0.3. the Problem appears to have been resolved. The regeneration and simulation work.

Ken
Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]