Tool fits but tool path neglects regions

All topics related to RhinoCAM

Tool fits but tool path neglects regions

Postby MS1496962663 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:49 am

Hello guys,

I am having trouble getting a .12 flat end mill to carve out material in .125 pockets with horizontal roughing and finishing. Its as if the stock variable has a positive value although it is zero. This is not an isolated incident. I have been using seperate toolpaths like engrave to get down into those in the past. There has got to be a better way. Attached are some screenshots.

1.jpg
1.jpg (354.42 KiB) Viewed 2839 times


2.jpg
2.jpg (256.86 KiB) Viewed 2839 times
MS1496962663
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:58 pm

Re: Tool fits but tool path neglects regions

Postby MS1496962663 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:55 am

Just to be thorough I moved this file over to my colleague's machine running rhinocam 2017. Same result.
MS1496962663
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:58 pm

Re: Tool fits but tool path neglects regions

Postby MecSoft Support » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:27 pm

Would you be able to upload the file or send it support@mecsoft.com so we could take a look at it ?
MecSoft Support
 
Posts: 2464
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: Irvine, CA, USA

Re: Tool fits but tool path neglects regions

Postby MS1496962663 » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:13 pm

No problem.

This part has several isocurves on surfaces because of boolean changes. However i have had this happen several times now on much simpler geometry. I often want to make a rib in a mold at or near the size of my cutter.
Attachments
1.3dm
(1.61 MiB) Downloaded 360 times
MS1496962663
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:58 pm

Re: Tool fits but tool path neglects regions

Postby MecSoft Support » Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:21 pm

Thanks for making the file available to us. Setting the part sampling resolution to Fine Under CAM Preferences - Machining and changing the intol/outol on Horizontal roughing operation to 0.001 generates the toolpath in the 0.125" pocket areas when programming with a 0.12" tool.
I have attached the part programmed in RhinoCAM 2017.
Attachments
1-REV1.3dm
(1.92 MiB) Downloaded 370 times
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (73.33 KiB) Viewed 2759 times
MecSoft Support
 
Posts: 2464
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: Irvine, CA, USA

Re: Tool fits but tool path neglects regions

Postby MS1496962663 » Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:33 pm

Excellent. I don't know why I did not poke around in the settings. Thank you very much for the help. :D
MS1496962663
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:58 pm


Return to RhinoCAM Topics & Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest