MecSoft Corporation
https://mecsoft.com/phpbb/

Cutting Splines
https://mecsoft.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3679
Page 1 of 1
Author:  1350519287 [ Sun Feb 28, 2021 2:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Cutting Splines

I was pointed to this article.
https://learn.adafruit.com/metal-parts-from-3d-prints/
I downloaded the files and thought this might be a challenge for AlibreCAM (VisualCAM). The perimeters and flat surfaces are pretty easy with a few different ways to skin the cat so to speak.
But how to do the splines. I find that selecting 3D machining and the inner and outer perimeter with a 30 degree tool creates open loops.
How does one go about setting up this kind of machining operation?
The file is too big to include so I've put it here: http://www.autoartisans.com/mill/locking_plate_01.zip
Author:  MecSoft Support [ Thu Mar 04, 2021 10:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Cutting Splines

You can select the outer perimeter at the base of the 3d feature and use this as your containment region and program 3 axis roughing and finishing operations. Use the minimum radius in Radial Machining to contain the tool to the inner region. Alternatively you can create a circle for the inner perimeter and select this along with the outer perimeter to contain the toolpath. When the selected containment region (curve/edge regions) is not closed loop, this would result in an open loop error when programming 3 axis roughing & finishing operations.

Attachments:
Rough&Finish_CutMaterial_Simulation.jpg
Rough&Finish_CutMaterial_Simulation.jpg (122.55 KiB) Viewed 2504 times
3Ax_Radial_Machining.jpg
3Ax_Radial_Machining.jpg (178.77 KiB) Viewed 2504 times
3Ax_Radial_Machining_MOp.jpg
3Ax_Radial_Machining_MOp.jpg (158.93 KiB) Viewed 2504 times
Author:  1350519287 [ Thu Mar 04, 2021 11:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Cutting Splines

That seemed to work for generating G-Code. I'll try it out on the mill and see how it behaves. Thanks.
Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]